New Music Friday – April 12, 2019


New Music Friday Playlist – April 12, 2019

So it’s Coachella weekend, but if you’re like me, the line-up wasn’t exciting enough to justify a hot, expensive weekend in the desert. While I’ll be COUCH-elling it here in LA, there is still some great music to be heard even if you’re not in Indio.

Point one – there are two great rock albums dropping today. The first comes from former Loved Ones singer Dave Hause. I’ve had the first three songs from the album spinning on my playlist (with “The Ditch” also spinning in my head constantly). The second is one of the best rock albums of this year (see our recent review) from North Carolina’s Reese McHenry. You won’t go wrong listening to either of these.

If you want something more mellow, there’s new albums from Damien Jurado and Bruce Hornsby which should be perfect for mellow evenings. Or if you want something more funky and fun, you should definitely listen to the new Anderson .Paak or LSD albums.

Point two – There are solid new singles from a variety of different artists. First comes from 70+ Calypsonian artist Calypso Rose, who has rerecorded her song “Young Boy” with help from soca start Machel Montano. Calypso will be playing Coachella this year (the oldest artist on the bill), so if you’re there, def. check her out for a fun and tropical show.

We also get drops from three alternative rock heavyweights – Silversun PickupsThe Raconteurs and 311, in anticipation of new albums coming out this year. A post-humus Avicii album was recently announced, and the first single from that album hit earlier this week, and features Aloe Blacc, who launched his career with Avicii’s chart-topper “Wake Me Up”.

Mark Ronson has a new single out with Lykke Li, and for you Adult Contemporary listeners, new music from Rob Thomas, Josh Ritter and Norah Jones. Enjoy all these and more in our New Music Friday Playlist!


Dave HauseKick

Reese McHenryNo Dados

Damien JuradoIn the Shape of a Storm

Bruce HornsbyAbsolute Zero

Anderson .PaakVentura

LSDLabrinth, Sia and Diplo Present…LSD


Calypso Rose – Young Boy (feat. Machel Montano)

Cage the Elephant – Goodbye

Silversun Pickups – It Doesn’t Matter Why

Avicii – SOS (feat. Aloe Blacc)

The Mountain Goats – Sicilian Crest

311 – Don’t You Worry / Good Feeling

Tom Morello – Can’t Stop the Bleeding (feat. Gary Clark Jr. & Gramatik)

Josh Ritter – All Some Kind of Dream

Rob Thomas – Timeless

Valerie June – Little Wing

Mark Ronson – Late Night Feelings (feat. Lykke Li)

Norah Jones – Begin Again

Charly Bliss – Hard to Believe

Meg Mac – I’m Not Coming Back

The Raconteurs – Hey Gyp (Dig the Slowness)

Yeasayer – Fluttering in the Floodlights

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.